Quotes from My Journal, Part 8   1 comment

This is the latest round of Quotes from My Journal, representing the middle third-or-so of my Leuchtturm 1917 journal. As always, I found them are either somewhat inspiring, amusing, or simply make me smile.

“There’s a power in looking silly and not caring that you do.”–Amy Poehler

“Educating yourself does not mean that you were stupid in the first place; it means that you are intelligent enough to know that there is plenty left to learn.”–Melanie Joy

“Everyone you will ever meet knows something you don’t.”–Bill Nye

“The illiterate of the twenty-first century will not be those who cannot read and write, but those who cannot learn, unlearn, and relearn.”–Alvin Toffler

“If someone offers you an amazing opportunity and you’re not sure you can do it, say yes–then learn how to do it later.”–Richard Branson

“In the astronaut business, we have a saying, which is ‘there is no problem so big that you can’t make it worse.'”–Chris Hadfield

“The best teachers are the ones who show you where to look, but don’t tell you want to see.”–Alexander K. Trenfor

“During the house-hunting process, I’d often say ‘I have cats’ to lettings agents, yet it’d feel like I’d said ‘I own a large, volatile dragon who likes to party.'”–Tom Cox


“In science, it often happens that scientists say, ‘you know, that’s a really good argument; my position is mistaken,’ and then they actually change their minds and you never hear that old view from them again. They really do it. It doesn’t happen as often as it should, because scientists are human and change is sometimes painful, but it happens every day. I cannot recall the last time something like that happened in politics or religion.”–Carl Sagan

“Anti-intellectualism has been a constant threat winding its way through our poltical and cultural life, nurtured by the false notion that democracy means that ‘my ignorance is just as good as your knowledge.'”–Isaac Asimov

“Defending wildlife is not an act of charity. It is an act of justice.”–Dr. Paula Kahumbu

“Setting goals is the first step in turning the invisible into the visible.”–Tony Robbins

“Animals can teach us many things; for example, feral cats taught me that size is a poor measure of ferocity.”–Brian Rathbone

“If I were giving a young man [or woman] advice as to how he might succeed in life, I would say to him, pick out a good father and mother, and begin life in Ohio.”–Wilbur Wright

“It’s amazing what you can learn when you know you have to.”–Coworker

Posted 2014-09-18 by Mr. Guilt in Quotes from My Journal

One response to “Quotes from My Journal, Part 8

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Love them all!

Leave a Reply

