Washington Mall   1 comment

The Barilleaux at the Mall

After the National Zoo, we went to the National Mall, to see the monuments. It was nearing dusk, what photographers refer to as the “Magic Hour.” We definitely could see it on the brand new Martin Luther King Memorial.
MLK Memorial Side

MLK Memorial (Looking Up)

Across the Potomac, we could see the Jefferson Memorial.
Jefferson Memorial

We then walked to the main area, where we got to see the Washington Monument, and its reflecting pool.
Washington Monument

As a bookend to the Martin Luther King Memorial, we went to the Lincoln Memorial, where King gave his most famous speech.
Lincoln Memorial

The last time I was there, I was alone at a training class for work. There was a group of Norwegian soldiers at the monument, whose group I somehow fell into their group. I asked if we were being invaded–just so I would have a head’s up. They assured me they were just tourists like me.
Lincoln

My daughter was inspired by my photography. She borrowed my GorillaPod to take her own pictures.
Setting Up a Picture

I think she did pretty good.
Rusty and Otto

We walked by the Korean War monument on our way back to the car. It was spooky as we walked by.
Korean War Memorial

The next day, we got to see a soccer game in front of the Capital Building.
Soccer by the Capital

It was a fun time walking around the Mall.
The Barilleaux at the Mall (Goofy Caits)

Posted 2014-09-02 by Mr. Guilt in Family, Photography, Summer Vacation 2014

One response to “Washington Mall

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It really looks great! I need to get back there sometime soon!

Leave a Reply

