InCoWriMo, Week 2 Status   2 comments

image
We’ve finished two weeks of International Correspondence Writing Month (InCoWriMo), and I’ve stayed up-to-date with writing. The last week was Valentines and birthdays, so, it was easy. As half the first week were InCoWriMo-specific give-aways, it has been fairly easy coming up with folks to write to. The rest of the month may be a bit more challenging.

image
About half the letters have gone to fellow InCoWriMo-ers, most I’ve never met before. It’s an interesting challenge, coming up with a letter to someone you’ve never met. I’ve been introducing myself, and discussing things on their blog, or their city, or even just the weather–2014 has been good for that for folks in North America. I think that it’s been good for me to do that–a bit of a confidence builder to try to develop a rapport without a real context. I often write people, typically in email, for business purposes. The purpose of the note is obvious, and it can be to the point. Having no purpose, however, raises a new challenge. It does nudge me outside of my comfort zone a bit.

image
I’ve also had a bit of fun picking out the paper, pen, and ink to match the recipient. Some of my personal notes have been particularly sentimental. Others have been focused on a single theme.


I would still love to send snail-mail to anyone reading this blog–just email me an address (gmail.com to mrguilt). I’d happily send you a card and a few good words.

Posted 2014-02-17 by Mr. Guilt in InCoWriMo

2 responses to “InCoWriMo, Week 2 Status

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I used to be a cyclist. I have a grown daughter who lives in Cincinnati and is not as communicative as I would like. I love to cook. We have a lot in common and I really enjoy your blog. I live in St. Louis, Missouri. When I was growing up elsewhere I was told the St. Louis zoo was very good. I have only visited the Cincinnati Zoo once. I admit to sticker shock. The St. Louis zoo is free. Also your favorite small cats were all ‘in storage’ while their new quarters were being built so I did not get to see them. If you ever visit St. Louis, the Art Museum and the Arch Museum are also free. The Botanical Garden and the Science Museum used to be very reasonably priced although I have not visited either in years. Your family would probably enjoy visiting. This is almost a snail mail.

    mommalibrarian
    • Glad you enjoy the blog! I’ll be honest: I use it to remind myself I’m more than just a middle-aged IT worker–I do things I think are cool.

      Growing up, my dad was stationed at Scott Air Force Base. We used to go to St. Louis not-infrequently. I’ve been to the St. Louis Zoo as a child, then about twelve years ago (my sister-in-law lived there for a while). It is a nice zoo, and the free-ness is amazing. Based on other zoos I’ve been to, Cincinnati is middle-of-the-road, but zoo memberships rock. We’ve taken advantage of the reciprocal agreements frequently.

      I went to St. Louis High School, but it was named after the man, was a Catholic school, and in Lake Charles. Sometimes, folks in Cincinnati will ask where I went to high school, and I throw them two different ways.

Leave a Reply

