Latkes   Leave a comment

Sweet potato latkes (front) regular latkes (rear) #food #hanukkahFood fried in oil is traditional for Hannukah. In my family, we mark the holiday by making beignets. While not a traditional jelly donut, it works in my family, by bringing some Louisiana culture to the occasion.

What is traditional is a latke, a potato pancake. I read several recipes, and figured out how to make my own. I’m really pleased with the outcome, and have even made them at my mother-in-law’s.

A few years ago, my wife came home from a Hannukah event, and told me about how she had some sweet potato latkes, and really liked them. I decided to take a crack at them, and got good results. It may not be as traditional, but it is a fun treat. Even the ones that didn’t come out quite right seem to get picked at.

The basis of a latke is grated potato (or sweet potato). I use the second smallest holes on my greater (the smallest are almost a microplane grater), resulting in shreds about a milimeter or two wide. I’ve been known to use the food processor, but the shreds are double or more in size, and don’t create the tight pancakes one would expect. I like to let them sit in a bowl after salting them a bit, then drain them of any fluid that has been drawn out.

Ingredients for Standard Latkes

  • 900g shredded potatos
  • 150g finely diced onions
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 100g all purpose flour

Ingredients for Sweet Potato Latkes

  • 450g shredded sweet potatos
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 2 eggs
  • 75g brown sugar
  • 70g all purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon pumpkin pie spice

Making the Latkes

  1. Mix the ingredients, save for the eggs, in a bowl.
  2. Heat 2-3 inches of canola oil in a broad skillet to 350 degrees.
  3. Beat the eggs, and mix into the other ingredients. Wait until just beore ready to make the latkes.
  4. Take a healthy handful of the potato mixture, and form into a patty about 2-3 cm thick I like to make them about the size of the palm of my hand.
  5. Fry each side for 2-3 minutes, until bubbling in oil dies down and the latke is golden brown and delicious. I like to cut open one of the first ones in half to ensure it’s cooked through to gauge how long it should take, and what “done” looks like.
  6. Set on a cookie sheet lined with paper towels. Salt to taste.

As always, be careful when frying to not splash on youself, or allow the oil to smoke.

Posted 2013-12-05 by Mr. Guilt in food, Recipes

Leave a Reply

