Silly Snow Leopards and a Sleepy Ocelittle at the Cincinnati Zoo   Leave a comment

I saw a video on Friday morning: there is a new ocelittle at the Cincinnati Zoo! I texted my wife, who replied that zoo just got added to our to-do list.

Santos come to the Queen city from the Arlington, Texas, zoo. He will be joining the cat ambassador program next summer. While we were there, he mostly just slept.
Ocelot Dreams

But, when you’re only two weeks old, and a cat, what more is required of you?
Sleeping on the Plush

Even big cougars are known to take cat naps.
Joe's Catnap

The snow leopards, on the other hand, had a serious game of chase-and-pounce going on.
Snow Leopard Stand-Off

Running all over their enclosure!

I was going to mute the sound, of only to not have to hear the kid call them “cheetahs,” but I liked hearing their footsteps.

They took turns. Here, Renji is preparing to pounce on Nubo.
Renji, Planning a Pounce

Nubo, sitting unaware she’s behind a rock. Look at the tail on this handsome cat!
Nubo, and his Tail

I fond one break in some trees along their enclosure, and Renji looked right at me. I talked to her a bit, and I’m afraid that, right after I took this picture, Nubo pounced. I guess I distracted her.
Happy Renji

Eventually, Nubo wound down and yawned. I suspect a nap was forthcoming.
Yawn!

The zoo also had a baby red panda. I think this his him.
L'il Red Panda

He was ups tree with his mom–the opposite reaction I have when I see my daughter up that high.
Mom and Baby Red Panda

I’m sure we’ll be back to see Santos, hopefully, when he’s awake.
Sleepy Santos

Leave a Reply

