Hope Ride Wrap-Up #HopeRide   Leave a comment

A few notes and thoughts about the Hope Ride, here are some thoughts and memories.

  • The plot of my ride, on Strava. You can see where we rode, performance stats, etc.
  • This is my twenty-nineth century ride.
  • I was surprised how strong I felt at the end of the ride–I’m not saying I wanted to extend the ride, but I had enough strength to get up any rises, and maintain a really good pace when I wasn’t actively slacking.
  • It was a gorgeous day, though started a bit iffy. It was raining when I left Cincinnati–I’m glad I have a station wagon, and can carry the bicycle inside the car as required. The rain let up halfway to Hope, and the roads were drying nicely by the time I threw my leg over the bike. The sky cleared up after lunch. There was some wind, but nowhere near the 30 MPH gusts we had last year.
  • Before the ride, while I was getting ready, a woman walked up and asked me to take a picture of her and the man she was riding with. I walked over, and the gentleman said, “Not every day you get to take a bike ride with your daughter.” I thought it was sweet.
  • I was sitting on a hay bale eating a banana when I found myself being attacked by kittens! They wanted to be petted (of course!). They started climbing a tree. A girl, maybe ten, was surprised to see that cats could climb a tree. I clued her in about clouded leopards.
  • The Indiana Department of Transportation decided to repave one of the roads the route was to traverse–I think their acronym is missing a letter. We had to detour, leaving everyone short of the hundred mile mark–I was seven-and-a-half miles when I hit the high school. Century rides don’t count unless your cyclecomputer shows “100.” 98 doesn’t count. 99.75 is held in especially low esteem–that just means you are too lazy to go around the block. I linked up with five other riders who retraced the first four miles of the day, around a pretty lake, then back again. Based on all the cyclists we saw, everyone seemed to have that idea.

The Hope Ride is one of my favorite rides, and I’ll almost definitely be back next year.

Posted 2013-09-22 by Mr. Guilt in 2013 Hope Ride, Cycling

Leave a Reply

