August, 2013 Hodge-Podge   Leave a comment

It takes a hard-working team of kitties to put together this blog. Behind the scenes, Eddy looks at our traffic, relegating me to the role of office furniture.
Blogging with Eddy #cats #catsofinstagram

On one of my rides to Oxford, Ohio, I saw the place my wife and I had our first date is still open.
My wife and I had out first date here.

“Roads? Where we’re going, we don’t need ‘roads.'”

When we took our trip to Hueston Woods, we stopped at Bagel and Deli, which my wife and I loved from when we were students at Miami University. Coincidentally, students were starting to return that weekend, and my wife and I had a flash forward to 2023.
My wife and I had a flash forward to 2023.

When I did the post about Bill Watterson’s advice, I was so excited, I really didn’t do a good job explaining why this resonated with me. Intuitively, I shouted “that’s me!” though I am not a stay-at-home dad, for example. I think what I took away from it is that you need to decide what’s important to you in life, and make the trade-offs necessary to make it happen. It may mean not getting the “Above” rating on an annual review or progress up the corporate ladder to CEO. But hopefully the trade-off you make–that lets you be a great parent, or an artist, or whatever–is worth it to you. I don’t see my career as self-actualizing, nor do I see how a job can do that for most people. What I shoot for is having a job I can do well at, give it 100% while I’m there, and use it to enable all the things in life that make me happy.

Dad Life: Holding a plush animal while my daughter is in the restroom.
Hanging with my daughter's plush otter while she's in the restroom. #DadLife

Posted 2013-08-31 by Mr. Guilt in Hodge-Podge

Leave a Reply

