Luna and the Bag Handle   1 comment

We came home tonight with a paper grocery bag with loop handles. We set it on the floor as we put everything away, and turned around to discover Luna jumped into it. This is anything but uncommon in our house. We commented how cute she is, and went about our business.

She jumped out, wandered around a bit, then back in. I noticed she pushed in one of the sides of the bag. I walked over to check: she managed to get her head through one of the loops. This scares me a bit, so I reached in to try to free her. Luna, however, decided it was time to run away.

She jumped up and tore off…with the bag still flopping around her. She kept running, but couldn’t get away from the paper bag. My wife tried to catch her from the other direction. I didn’t see exactly what happened, but I next saw Luna running through the kitchen. However, she still had the loop handle and a chunk of the bag around her neck.

I tried to catch her, but she evaded me. She went down the cat-hole to the basement. As I mentioned, our basement is a stone basement. There is a gap in one wall under one room. It’s sealed from the outside, and some of the ductwork goes through it–it’s sort of a Jefferies tube that only a cat (Luna in particular) can access with any ease. Naturally, she jumped up there. Luna was only coming out on her terms.
Luna in the Jefferies Tube

We got out the treats and shook them. Beso and Eddy appeared at our feet. She approached, but there was no way I could grab her, hang on, and pull her out. I feared she was becoming scared of me. I puttered around the basement filling the tires on my bicycles, trying again here and there. I finally got the bag remnant off of her, so at least it would no longer be a choking hazard. I went upstairs and sat on the couch. She appeared five minutes later.

Life with cats is always an adventure!

Posted 2013-08-11 by Mr. Guilt in cats, Family, felis silvestris catus, Luna

One response to “Luna and the Bag Handle

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. It’s a little scary how cats get so panicked when they get themselves in trouble. We had one profoundly dim-witted cat who got a fishhook stuck in its paw. I thought it would hurt too much for him to go running on it, but when I tried to grab him to put him in the carrier for a trip to the vet’s, he dashed outdoors. The kids tried to chase him down, but he managed to hide in the shrubbery and refused to come out. When he finally returned for dinner—he was never one to miss a meal—the hook had somehow come out and there was an ugly wound in the paw. He may have torn it out himself, or the hook got caught on something and was yanked out when he pulled on it. One vet trip and a hundred bucks later, he was fine, but it was a nerve-wracking time while he was lost outside.

Leave a Reply

