Goodbye, Instagram   3 comments


Instagram does not claim ownership of any Content that you post on or through the Service. Instead, you hereby grant to Instagram a non-exclusive, fully paid and royalty-free, transferable, sub-licensable, worldwide license to use the Content that you post on or through the Service
The New Instagram Terms of Service

As you may have heard, Instagram has changed their Terms of Service (ToS). This is viewed as part of their being purchased by Facebook. The ToS present several things which give privacy advocate concern, as well as allow for the inclusion of ads. The challenge of social media is figuring out how to generate revenue. These are common elements, and you have to weigh this against the utility or enjoyment you get from the respective sites.

However, this language suggests they could sell my work without my permission, or even notification. In contrast, Flickr allows photos to be published under a Creative Commons, allowing me control over who uses my photos. The only way to opt-out is to cancel your account by January 16.

Instragram posted a reply, which is still vague. Both the Verge and Slate both made posts that interpret the language more narrowly, and that may be appropriate. Still, it’s a bit disconcerting.

I’ve decided to leave Instagram. Wired has instructions on how to download your photos and leave. My plan is to kill my account on January 13, to give me time to repoint some photos on this blog away from Instagram.

I’ll still post photos here, on twitter, and Flickr. Look for me there! And let me know where you are moving your photos, too.

UPDATE (12/24/2012): Instagram reverted to their original Terms of Service. I feel that, when a service listens to their userbase and changes direction–especially as major a change (or non changing) as this, they should be given a chance. To do otherwise would discourage such behavior. I’m going to keep using the service, but will be in a position to pull the plug a little more quickly. I had already rehosted all the pictures, and repointed all my blog posts to the new site (a good evening’s work).

If Flickr pulls something like this, I’m good and truly screwed.

Posted 2012-12-18 by Mr. Guilt in computers, Internet, rant

3 responses to “Goodbye, Instagram

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: December Hodge-Podge « Mr. Guilt's Blog

  2. Pingback: Back Up Your Cloud | Mr. Guilt's Blog

  3. Pingback: Harder to Love Instagram | Mr. Guilt's Blog

Leave a Reply

