In Which I Ride a Bicycle, and Have Bad Luck   1 comment

New TireToday, the weathermen were predicting a 60% chance of rain, scattered, but mostly in the afternoon. I thought I would be smart, and leave in the morning.

When I got out of bed, I discovered that the rain had drifted in, and producing an odd storm here and there. However, by 11:00, it looked like it was going to stay clear enough long enough to do what I call “the Manhole Cover Tour.” This ride would have been 32 miles, taking me through Indian Hill, Miamiville, and Milford, Ohio.

Getting to Indian was a climb of several miles. At about the ten mile mark, I noticed the skies to the west were turning dark. I pulled out my phone, and saw a line of storms heading my way. I got to a road named Cunningham, and turned east. This would intersect 126, which I had planned to get on further to the northeast. However, I wanted to get to cover more quickly. Though it would cut five miles out of my ride, Milford seemed like a good bet for that. Cunningham has a steep, winding downhill. It was dark and wet on this day, so I decided to walk my bike down it. I got back on my bike, and rode a few more miles…

…and the saddle bounce a bit more than I expected. Then, it got a bit rougher. I realized that I had a flat. I looked for a safe spot, and got off my bike.

I’m equipped to handle flats in the field. I care a spare tube, patch kit, and a frame pump. However, on this part of 126, there wasn’t a safe place to pull off the road and patch it. There is also Bishops, a bike store in Milford, about half a mile away. I figured I’d buy a new tube (you can never have too many tubes) and borrow a floor pump.

Black Chili CompoundI took off my wheel, and removed the tire and tube. I found the hole in the tube, and lined it up to the tire. It wasn’t a small puncture–it was a once centimeter cut. The tire would have to be replace. Had I been in the middle of nowhere, I would have put a dollar bill in the tire to act as a “boot,” get home, then go to a bike store to get a replacement. Conveniently, I only needed to do the last step. The folks at Bishops were nice, helping me find not just an adequate tire, but one that would do well on my bike.

Back outside, I installed the tire. My bike is made by a company called Habanero Cycles–I was actually looking up the Scoville units for a habanero pepper (250,000). I’m always amused when something chili-themed makes its way into my kit. The tire manufacturer describes the material they make their tires out of as “Black Chili Compound.” Neat!

As I fixed it, I watched a couple put new road bikes on the back of their car. I talked to them–they were getting into the sport. They bemoaned by bad luck. However, I pointed out it was the opposite. Had I been in the middle of nowhere, it would have been an order of magnitude harder to deal with. I could not have asked for a better spot for it to happen.

Posted 2012-07-14 by Mr. Guilt in Cycling

One response to “In Which I Ride a Bicycle, and Have Bad Luck

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I’m glad you weren’t out in the middle of nowhere!

Leave a Reply

