Green Sauce   1 comment

Green SauceI first knowingly tried “green sauce” on a business trip to Washington, DC. A coworker took me to a Bolivian restaurant where it was served with Yucca. I’ve since had similar sauces at Peruvian, Venezuelan, and Mexican restaurants, and suggested with other Latin American cuisine. While it has other names and variations, most people I’ve talked to know it as green sauce. In any case, it has a tangy, fruity flavor that compliments a number of dishes.

When I wanted to make some, I poked around the internet, and found this recipe, which also provided instructions for cooking it with yucca. Handy, since that’s what I was going for. Though I stuck to the script the first time I made this, I’ve since tweaked the recipe to better match my tastes. First, my habit is to substitute plain, non-fat yogurt in place of mayonnaise. It provides a lot of the tang, but turns this from something less-than-healthy to not-bad. Truth be told, I’ve come to prefer the particular flavor variation.

While I like spicy food, the members of my family from the midwest (i.e. my wife and daughter) appreciate me toning it down. So, I use a third of a poblano pepper in place of the jalapenos. A poblano pepper has around 1200 Scoville units of heat; a jalapeno, starts at twice that, and can be up to 8,000 Scovilles. This allows for some spice to be present, but not enough to hurt. There are a couple other adjustments to the ingredient list, which suites our tastes.

Ingredients
5-6 lettuce leaves
6 tablespoons plain, non-fat yogurt
Juice from ½ lime
1/4 bunch fresh cilantro
1/3 Poblano pepper, seeds removed (adjust to taste)
2 garlic cloves
1/4 teaspoon salt

Chop up lettuce, cilantro, peppers and garlic. Combine in blender with other ingredients. Put in serving dish or in a squeeze bottle.

Thing I Learned the Hard Way: I thought I could just throw things in the blender, and that would do the chopping. However, the big pieces didn’t fall to the blade as readily. Running my knife through everything a few times does the trick!

Posted 2012-07-08 by Mr. Guilt in food, Recipes

One response to “Green Sauce

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Wow! Thanks for ending the mystery. I was always a little afraid to find out what was in it for fear that it would spoil my enjoyment. Well done!

Leave a Reply

