Squigglebot   Leave a comment

I had an old tower computer it was time to recycle. On a whim, I harvested one of the fans from it. Touching its wires to a 9 volt battery, I was able to make it spin. I was momentarily amused.

I went to Radio Shack to get a proper clip for the battery, but decided that even the dollar-or-so for it wasn’t worth it–I figured I’d lose interest in it in a few days. However, they had a plan to convert a similar fan into a SquiggleBot. It was very simple, and I was able to strip down the instructions even more (just rubber-banding the wires to the battery). My daughter and I put it together tonight.

Not bad for some spare parts!

Posted 2012-07-04 by Mr. Guilt in amusing, Family, Geeky

Leave a Reply

