Pen Profile: LeBoeuf Ringtop   1 comment

My mom has been restoring an eighty-year-old house. She has come across a variety of interesting things that were left there over the years–books, a safe (from a Cincinnati safe manufacturer), and other things. She found a bottle of ink and a fountain pen, which she gave to me while we were on Spring Break.

The ink was a bottle of Sheaffer’s Skrip, which is still sold, by name if not formula. Based on some of the things listed on it (like suggesting its use in a Sheaffer Snorkel), I’d say it came from the 1950s.

The fountain pen, however, is even older.
LeBoeuf Ringtop
The pen is a LeBoeuf Ringtop. LeBoeuf was a Massachusetts pen manufacturer that was founded in 1921. It didn’t last long, closing in 1933. This makes the pen at least eighty years old. That it is a ringtop further validates this. The notion was that a lady might wear such a pen on a necklace. However, by the Thirties, pen manufacturers had pretty much settled on the clip we know today.

The pen my mom gave me needed a new sack–no big deal. The finish is in good condition, though a pass with some Simichrome enhanced it. I kinda dig the grey-and-white marble. The cap is threaded to hold it closed. What’s interesting is that both sides of the barrel are threaded–you can screw the cap in to post it.

As I mentioned, I had to replace a sack. This particular pen uses a lever to fill. When people think of fountain pen, this is the mechanism they mostly think of. There are many cartoons where pulling the lever sprays ink in someone’s face. How it works is, the lever moves a pressure bar inside the barrel, which compresses the sack. This expels whatever happens to be in the pen (ink, water, or air). Moving the leaver back, the sack expands, and draws in whatever the nib happens to be in. If that is ink, the pen is filled.

Writing is OK. I try to limit how much I do to vintage pens. The nib tines are very flexible, and they aren’t completely aligned. There is a sweet spot where it rights OK, but, short of pulling out the nib and doing work, I don’t think it will achieve Lamy-levels of awesomeness.

I’m having issues with my scanner, otherwise, I would post a writing sample. If I get it resolved, I will add it.

The lack of a clip means it probably won’t leave the house too often, but it is a pretty cool artifact.

Posted 2012-04-08 by Mr. Guilt in Fountain Pens, Pen Profile

One response to “Pen Profile: LeBoeuf Ringtop

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Pen Monkey Likes You | Mr. Guilt's Blog

Leave a Reply

