Baby Cats & Baby Clouded Leopards   1 comment

As I’m sure you are aware, I follow many cat blogs. One is called Love and Hisses, which is what I call a “foster blog.” It’s writer cares for kittens that come into a shelter but need some time living in a house with people–either older cats who need to decompress, or kittens too young to be adopted out. She puts up pictures of the fosters, as well as her resident cats. Last month, she took in a pregnant cat to foster. On March 1, four kittens were born.

Five days later and 2,500 miles away, at the Point Defiance Zoo and Aquarium, a clouded leopard gave birth to two cubs. ZooBorns provided the initial head’s up, as well as an update.

I’m rather excited to be able to follow the growth of both a domestic cat and a wild cat at the same time (especially one as cool as neofelis nebulosa). The cats can be tracked on the blog. It appears the best place to follow the clouded leopards is on the zoo’s Facebook page, but I will update if I find a better spot.

One of the things I love about cats is the amount of diversity in the same basic platform. I think it’s neat to be able to see the similarities and differences in the development of these two species.

One response to “Baby Cats & Baby Clouded Leopards

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Lost everything I typed… argh.
    Almost a year ago, my husband and I played hookey from work. We were actually commuting by bike that day, but instead of going to work, we decided to ride to the Port Defiance zoo so I could see those kittens. We rode to the ferry, which took us to Vashon Island (a rather hilly Island) and rode all the way south to the end of the Island where we took another ferry to Tacoma. We arrived at the zoo around 1030 in the morning only to discover that the zoo was closed. They have a “day off” every year (and also Christmas day) to get ready for some festival. So I have not yet seen these cats. THANK YOU for reminding me.

    Mimi Torchia Boothby Watercolors

Leave a Reply

