Irish Soda Bread   2 comments

Irish Soda BreadI typically make Irish soda bread around time for Saint Patrick’s Day. Twitter friend Beth was commenting this afternoon about needing a new recipe to have, but not have to wait until Easter to pull it together. Since I was typing it up, I thought I would share with everyone. This is adapted from a bread machine recipe–you can just dump in the ingredients to make a small loaf.

But really, what fun is that?

¾ Cup Buttermilk (I keep powdered buttermilk around for this)
1½ Teaspoon Yeast
1½ Tablespoons (4½ Teaspoons) Sugar
1½ Tablespoons Margarine/Butter
¾ Teaspoon Salt
¼ Teaspoon Baking Soda
2 Cups Bread Flour

  1. Mix buttermilk and sugar, and sprinkle yeast on top. Let bloom for 10 minutes to form a foamy head.
  2. Add rest of the ingredients and mix.
  3. Knead until smooth. If I’m using the dough hook on my stand mixer, I go for about 10 minutes. By hand, I’ll do a little more.
  4. Form dough into ball. Coat a mixing bowl with vegetable oil, put dough ball in, and cover. Let rise for one hour, or until double in size.
  5. Form ball into a loaf shape. I go for a rough, free-form ovalish shape. Set on a greased cookie sheet (or, ungreased with a silpat, which is what I do).
  6. Let rise for another 45 minutes
  7. Preheat oven to 350°
  8. Bake for 30-45 minutes (until golden brown. I look for an internal temperature of 160-180°)
  9. Enjoy with butter
Posted 2012-03-13 by Mr. Guilt in food, Recipes

2 responses to “Irish Soda Bread

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Pingback: Thanksgiving Goodies « Mr. Guilt's Blog

  2. Pingback: Fresh Loaf of Irish Soda Bread | Mr. Guilt's Blog

Leave a Reply

