Eighteen Pounds of Popcorn   1 comment

I like popcorn.

I mean to say, I really like popcorn. It is my favorite snack. I have, however, gotten picky.

I used to be a big fan of movie popcorn, but I’ve found a lot of variance. Microwave popcorn has just become a big greasy-and-flavor-packet mess.

No, if I want it done right, I have to do it myself, and that means stovetop. I start with a basic set of parts:

  • Good Kernels This makes a big difference. Rule of thumb: if it’s in a plastic bag, it’s probably not good. Orville Redenbacher’s kernels are good, and can be consistently had. However, I’ve gotten some good (and not so good) stuff at farmer’s markets–I happily try those offerings. I’m also fond of the unpopped kernels sold by the Boy Scouts
  • Peanut Oil I’ve experimented with different oils. Olive oil wasn’t right. Canola was good; corn oil wasn’t. I thought sesame oil would be interesting–it was, just not the way I hoped. I finally settled on peanut oil. It has a mostly-neutral-but-good flavor, and yields a crisp product.
  • A Heavy-Duty Saucepan
  • A Big, Wide Bowl Popcorn pops because moisture inside the kernel creates pressure when heated. When it pops, steam is released. This is a good thing, but, when the popcorn first comes out of the pan, I find it kind of gummy. A wide bowl spreads the popcorn out, and lets the steam get away. I usually let the popcorn rest for five minutes or so to allow for this.
  • Kosher Salt I suppose other sorts of salt will do–this is just how I roll.

I bring this up because my coworker delivered my annual supply of Boy Scout popcorn. In terms of dollars-per-pound, it’s a good value. It also means that when my daughter has to sell something, I know just who to approach.
18 Pounds of Popcorn

I added an allusion to one of popcorn’s greatest moments on the silver screen.

Posted 2010-11-23 by Mr. Guilt in food

One response to “Eighteen Pounds of Popcorn

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I remember making popcorn “the old fashioned way” – but only because I’m old. I agree on the quality of movie & micro products… they’ve become very inconsistent.

    Bonus points for the Real Genius link.

Leave a Reply

