68 miles Cajun Food for Lunch   4 comments

The corn isn’t authentic, but oh cher!

Posted 2010-09-18 by Mr. Guilt in 2010 Hope Ride, Cycling, Route Tracking

4 responses to “68 miles Cajun Food for Lunch

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Looks good! What do you mean the “corn is not authentic?”

    Freedom Smith
    • My exact question!!!

    • I’ll confess: I’m a snob about red beans and rice. I will qualify that I’m not 100% sure about if that’s what they were going for.

      While different cajun cooks may tweak the variables, red beans and rice should contain red beans (preferably Camellia), water, a bit of salt, bay leaves, trinity (a combination of bell pepper, onion, and celery common in cajun cooking), and meat (sausage or tasso). This is served over rice. You might talk me into tweaking the seasoning (garlic or parsley, for instance), but that really is it.

      Things I have seen that do not belong in red beans and rice include cheese and tomatoes. The corn wasn’t bad, but it’s not what I would expect back in Louisiana.

Leave a Reply

