On Technology Acceptance…   Leave a comment

“Anything that is in the w0rld when you are born is normal and ordinary and is just a natural part of the way the world works. Any thing that’s invented between when you’re fifteen and thirty-five is new and exciting and revolutionary, and you can probably get a career in it. Anything invented after you’re thirty-five is against the natural order of things.”–Douglas Adams

This is one of those quotes that seems so accurate it’s scary. My daughter has grown up with a bunch of technologies that I just got my hands on in the last decade. She thinks nothing of hitting “pause” on the TV. She has a hard time understanding that, if we forgot to grab our iPod, we don’t have every song we have with us. The internet is, of course, available everywhere–you just have to pull out your phone.

I disagree with the “against the natural order” part, at least in terms of timing. I’m a few years past thirty-five (just a few), but I get excited over each new “SciFi” gadget I can get my hands on (my iPad is currently the “wow!” device I have). Still, pausing TV is something that doesn’t always occur to me. The Internet everywhere is something I think of as a gift from heaven.

Posted 2010-09-17 by Mr. Guilt in Geeky, Interesting

Leave a Reply

